Braille League and Belgian Red Cross-Flanders launch First Aid training for blind and visually impaired individuals

Belgian Red Cross-Flanders, which offers free First Aid courses to some 50,000 people every year, is launching an adapted training course for blind and visually impaired people in collaboration with the Braille League. The need for this training proved great: until now, the classic First Aid course was not fully accessible to this target group.

Customized First Aid Training
Blind and visually impaired persons face specific challenges in providing first aid. Traditional training is based on four steps: safety, assessing the victim's condition, notifying specialized help, and providing further first aid. For blind and visually impaired persons, three of these four steps are often more difficult. Ensuring a safe situation and recognizing symptoms, for example, are more challenging. Applying a bandage by touch is also not evident.

The modified First Aid course not only addresses these challenges but also provides a full-fledged class that teaches first aid skills. There is less photo and video material used but more listening stories. Classes are taught in smaller groups with additional instructors so there is more room for 1-on-1 practice. Ample materials are also provided so that each participant can feel and try everything for themselves.

In addition, some objectives have been adjusted. Whereas we expect sighted persons to be able to recognize and care for a wound themselves, in the case of blind and visually impaired persons we focus on questioning victims and/or witnesses, and providing instructions on treatment.

Strong focus on auditory communication
The lessons remain classroom-based, maintaining a focus on conveying information, demonstrating skills and having participants practice them. In addition, an audio file was created of the content, allowing participants to re-listen to the content at their own pace after class. There is a strong focus on auditory communication: all instructions were carefully revised to be easily understood and clear. Teachers were also given additional information on how best to communicate with blind and visually impaired individuals.

Liesl Keymolen of Belgian Red Cross-Flanders says: "For Belgian Red Cross-Flanders it is the first time we developed a themed first aid lesson for this target group. The idea came about after a concrete request from the Braille League to Belgian Red Cross-Flanders. We in turn - in close cooperation with the Brailleliga - set to work developing the training. After a few successful test sessions, the training is now being rolled out across Flanders. We are extremely pleased with the cooperation with the Braille League and are thrilled that we can now teach life-saving techniques to blind and visually impaired people."

Marie-Jeanne Nachtergaele, Head of Service Guidance & Assistance in Daily Life, of the Braille League adds, "The idea of doing something with first aid for visually impaired and blind people had been around for some time. Through contacts with Belgian Red Cross-Flanders , we were able to shape the approach. The first reactions after the test session were positive. According to the participants, it was a pleasant and instructive session that can definitely increase the independence of blind and visually impaired people. The launch of First Aid training for blind and visually impaired persons is an important step for inclusion. Everyone, regardless of their disability, should have the opportunity to learn first aid skills and save lives."

After successful test trainings, the customized First Aid training by Braille League is now being further rolled out. In the next step, Belgian Red Cross-Flanders will ensure that the First Aid app will also be fully accessible to blind and visually impaired people.

Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen premiers secours Ligue Braille et formation au lancement pour les personnes aveugles et malvoyantes

Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen premiers secours qui offre des cours gratuits à quelque 50 000 personnes chaque année, lance une formation adaptée aux personnes aveugles et malvoyantes en collaboration avec la Ligue Braille. premiers secours Le besoin de cette formation s'est avéré important : jusqu'à présent, le cours classique n'était pas entièrement accessible à ce groupe cible.

premiers secours
premiers secoursFormation adaptée Les personnes aveugles et malvoyantes sont confrontées à des défis spécifiques en matière de . premiers secours La formation traditionnelle repose sur quatre étapes : la sécurité, l'évaluation de l'état de la victime, la notification de l'aide spécialisée et la poursuite de la formation. Pour les personnes aveugles et malvoyantes, trois de ces quatre étapes sont souvent plus difficiles. Par exemple, il est plus difficile de garantir une situation sûre et de reconnaître les symptômes. Appliquer un pansement au toucher n'est pas non plus évident.

premiers secoursLa formation modifiée ne se contente pas de répondre à ces défis, elle propose également un cours à part entière qui enseigne les techniques de premiers secours. Elle utilise moins de photos et de vidéos, mais davantage d'histoires à écouter. Les cours sont dispensés dans des groupes plus restreints avec des instructeurs supplémentaires, ce qui laisse plus d'espace pour les exercices individuels. Le matériel fourni est suffisant pour que chaque participant puisse sentir et essayer tout ce qu'il a à faire.

En outre, certains objectifs ont été adaptés. Alors que nous attendons des voyants qu'ils soient capables de reconnaître et de soigner eux-mêmes une blessure, dans le cas des aveugles et des malvoyants, nous nous concentrons sur l'interrogatoire des victimes et/ou des témoins, et donnons des instructions sur le traitement.


L'accent est mis sur la communication auditive Les leçons restent basées sur la salle de classe, l'accent étant mis sur la transmission d'informations, la démonstration de compétences et leur mise en pratique par les participants. En outre, un fichier audio a été créé pour permettre aux participants de réécouter le contenu à leur propre rythme après la leçon. L'accent est mis sur la communication auditive : toutes les instructions ont été soigneusement révisées pour être facilement comprises et claires. Les enseignants ont également reçu des informations supplémentaires sur la meilleure façon de communiquer avec les personnes aveugles et malvoyantes.

Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen premiers secours Liesl Keymolen déclare : "C'est la première fois que nous développons une leçon à thème pour ce groupe cible. Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen L'idée est née d'une demande spécifique de la Brailleliga. Nous nous sommes alors attelés, en étroite collaboration avec la Brailleliga, à l'élaboration du cours. Après quelques séances d'essai réussies, la formation est maintenant mise en place dans toute la Flandre. Nous sommes extrêmement satisfaits de la coopération avec la Ligue Braille et nous sommes ravis de pouvoir enseigner des techniques de sauvetage aux personnes aveugles et malvoyantes.

premiers secours Marie-Jeanne Nachtergaele, responsable du service Guidance & Assistance dans la vie quotidienne de la Ligue Braille, a ajouté : "L'idée de faire quelque chose pour les malvoyants et les aveugles était présente depuis un certain temps. Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen Grâce à nos contacts avec , nous avons pu mettre au point l'approche. Les premières réactions après la session de test ont été positives. Selon les participants, il s'agissait d'une session agréable et instructive qui peut certainement accroître l'indépendance des personnes aveugles et malvoyantes. premiers secours Le lancement de la formation pour les personnes aveugles et malvoyantes est une étape importante pour l'inclusion. Tout le monde, quel que soit son handicap, devrait avoir la possibilité d'acquérir des compétences en matière de premiers secours et de sauver des vies.

premiers secours Après des formations tests réussies, la formation adaptée est maintenant déployée par la Ligue Braille. Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen premiers secours La prochaine étape consistera à faire en sorte que l'application devienne également totalement accessible aux personnes aveugles et malvoyantes.